As for the future, our task is not to forecast it, but to enable it
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 Français  English  Deutsch

Bitcoin in the news of november 2013

How does crypto-money work ?

World is always bubbling, and presently, Bitcoins are bubbling !

After the Congress hearing of November 2013 and the statement of Ben Bernanke on virtual currencies, in a casual form the whereabouts of Bitcoin

What is Bitcoin ?

Bitcoin is an Internet-currency, a "currency" which does only exist on computers.

Bitcoin does not have an intrinsic value. Bitcoin is also not coupled to the price of say energy or gold.

Through this caracteristic, Bitcoin is similar to the current official Fiat-currencies. They are called Fiat-currencies because since the presidency of Richard Nixon, they are no longer convertible to gold. Official currencies have legal tender in their country of origin. E.g. taxes have to be paid using a currency enjoying legal tender. Damages fixed by Courts are typically labelled in the currency enjoying legal tender.

Because Bitcoin has nowhere legal tender, Bitcoin is called a virtual currency.

What is the cause of the current interest for Bitcoin?

A second difference with legal tender currencies is the fact that the total number of ever to be emitted Bitcoins has been fixed at 21 Millions. The owner enjoys the garantee that the printpress will not be used to solve urgent problems… This is an major asset in the world of quantitative easing in the US and of rescue packages in Europa. Chinese capital is buying more and more bitcoins likely exactly for this reason.

A third major difference is that Bitcoin are not held in a bank-account. The bank is (typically) not the debtor to the Bitcoin holder. However, of course custody is possible.

The owner of a Bitcoin owns a coin. Negative coins do not exist. This was a fundemental design decision of Bitcoin. ( Nevertheless banks can open Bitcoin accounts as they open gold accounts. In this case, the Bank owns the Bitcoins and is on the other side a debtor and not a custodian. )

Buying Bitcoins ?

Today the greatest market is china (btcchina.com). There are markets in Europe (e.g. bitcoin.de), Japan (mtgox.com) and in the USA.

What is the outlook on Bitcoin ?

It could be excellent ! Bitcoin is a guarantee against the print press. An colossal appreciation of Bitcoin is conceptually built in the scheme. (Which does not mean it will happen again in the future ! ) Today, the smallest Bitcoin unit is the Satoshi which is worth 0.000 000 01 Bitcoin. If the price of Bitcoin would rise so that even a Satoshi would be too big a unit, additional decimal places will be provided. The 21 million Bitcoin limit will not be touched.

The second positive aspect is that the Bitcoin-owner has no debitor. So no domino effect to be afraid of !

Crypto-currencies could be a major opportunity for Luxembourg. Expect also the raise of other cryptocurrencies which will be more linked to the legal system of the host country

As Chairman Bernanke stated, virtual currencies “may hold long-term promise, particularly if the innovations promote a faster, more secure and more efficient payment system.” This statement explains partly the last surge of Bitcoin

Indeed the price of Bitcoin has jumped in one year from around 12$ to more than 700$ through several stages and at the time of this writing seemed to stabilize at around 500 $ to rebound to 800$. As you can see there are tremendous fluctuations, including downwards. Fluctuations of far more than 50% down or up happen! Be aware !

The tremendous increase of the Bitcoin price immediately raises the question of whether it is a buble. But is it a buble or is it a Black Swan ? This question should be discussed in more depth, in a forthcoming article ;) .

A second major risk

Bitcoins are stored in the computer in so called wallets.

And today we are facing viruses, i.e. fully automated computer-attacks, specifically aiming at stealing the keys giving access to the Bitcoins owned by the computer holder. The more Bitcoins are valued, the more this problem will become relevant. (Expect to see specialized and secure hardware-wallets in the future)

Nevertheless: Today it seems that Bitcoin and other crypto-currencies are here to stay ! Affaire à suivre !

Disclaimer

This is by no way a financial advice. If you were to invest in Bitcoins or to disinvest, you are doing it at your own risk and you are strongly encouraged to do your own research. Any liability of the undersigned will be vigourously denied ! See also the Legal notice

Es ist nicht unsere Aufgabe die Zukunft vorauszusehen, sondern sie zu ermöglichen
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 Français  English  Deutsch

Bitcoin in den Schlagzeilen von November 2013

Wie funktioniert Kryptogeld ?

Die Welt steht nie still, und zur Zeit macht Bitcoin Schlagzeilen !

Nach den Anhörungen im amerikanischen Kongress im November 2013 und nach der Stellungnahme über virtuelle Währungen von Ben Bernanke, President der Federal Reserve, hier in einer vereinfachten Form, meine Sicht über Bitcoin

Was ist Bitcoin ?

Bitcoin ist eine Internet-Währung, eine "Währung" die nur in Computer besteht.

Bitcoin hat keinen intrinsikischen Wert. Bitcoin ist also zB nicht am Preis von Energie oder Gold gekoppelt.

Durch dieses Merkmal ist Bitcoin den zurzeitigen offiziellen Fiat-Währungen ähnlich. Diese werden Fiat Währungen genannt weil sie seit der Presidentschaft von Richard Nixon auch nicht mehr in Gold umtauschbar sind. Offizielle Währungen sind gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel in den jeweiligen Herkunftsländern. Zum Beispiel sind Steuern in gesetzlichen Zahlungsmitteln zu leisten. Auch gerichtlich festgelegte Entschädigungen sind in gesetzlichen Zahlungsmitteln zu zahlen.

Da Bitcoin nirgends gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel ist, wird es eine virtuelle Währung genannt.

Warum dieses plötzliche Interesse für Bitcoin?

Ein zweiter wichtiger Unterschied gegenüber gesetzlichen Zahlungsmitteln ist dass die Gesamtzahl der je zu emittierenden Bitcoins auf 21 Millionen fixiert wurde. Der Besitzer weiss dass die Druckpresse nicht zur Lösung von dringenden Problemen bemüht werden wird. Das ist ein wichtiger Aspekt in den Zeiten von Quantitative Easing in Amerika und der Rettungspakete in Europa. Chinesisches Kapital kauft übrigens mehr und mehr Bitcoins vermutlich genau aus diesem Grunde.

Eine dritte grössere Differenz ist dass Bitcoin ausserhalb des klassischen Banksystems funktioniert. Die Bank ist (typischerweise) nicht der Schuldner des Bitcoinbesitzers. Natürlich ist eine Depothaltung möglich.

Der Besitzer einer Bitcoin besitzt diese Münze. Negative Münzen bestehen nicht. Das ist eine fundementale Design-Entscheidung von Bitcoin. ( Nichtdestotrotz können Banken Bitcoin-Konten erröffnen genau wie Goldkonten. In diesem Falle, besitzt die Bank die Bitcoins und ist andererseits ein Schuldner und ein Verwalter (custodian). )

Wo Bitcoins kaufen ?

Der grösste Markt ist der chinesische Markt. Es gibt auch Märkte in Europa (zB bitcoin.de), Japan (mtgox.com) und in den USA.

Zukunftsprognosen für Bitcoin ?

Die Zukunft Bitcoins könnte sehr rosig sein ! Bitcoin ist eine Garantie gegen die übertriebene Benutzung der Druckpresse. Eine kolossale Wertsteigerung Bitcoins ist konzeptuell in Bitcoin-Modell eingebaut. (Was nicht heisst dass diese Wertsteigerung auch in Zukunft wieder gegeben sein wird ! ) Heute ist die kleinste Bitcoin Währungseinheit der Satoshi. Ein Satoshi entspricht 0.000 000 01 Bitcoin. Wenn der Preis von Bitcoin so steigen würde dass sogar eine Satoshi eine zu grosse Einheit sein würde, würden zusätzliche Dezimalstellen Abhilfe gewähren. Die 21 Millionen Bitcoin Limit wird immer Bestand behalten.

Der zweite positive Punkt ist dass der Bitcoin-Besitzer keinen Schuldner hat. Somit ist kein Domino-effekt zu befürchten !

Krypto-Währungen könnten die nächste grosse Chance für Luxemburg werden. Wir werden demnächst eine neue Generation von Krypto-Währungen erleben die mehr an das lokale Rechtssystem angebunden sein werden.

Chairman Bernanke schrieb dass virtuelle Währungen "langfristig helfen könnten, insbesondere falls die Innovationen einen schnelleren, sicheren und effizienteren Zahlungsverkehr ermöglichen.” Diese Aussage teilweise die letzte Preishausse von Bitcoin

In der Tat ist der Preis von Bitcoin innerhalb eines Jahres von ungefähr 12$ auf 700$ in mehreren Etappen gesprungen. Zur Stunde ! dieses Schreibens ist Bitcoin nach einem Fall auf 500$ wieder auf 800$ gestiegen. Es gibt erhebliche Preisschwankungen, auch nach unten. Schwankungen von weit über 50% nach unten und nach oben sind keine Ausnahmeerscheinungen ! Seien Sie sich dessen bewusst !

Die schnelle Preisentwicklung von Bitcoin stellt natürlich die Frage ob es sich nicht um eine Blase handelt. Aber handelt es sich um eine Blase oder um einen Schwarzen Schwan ? Diese Frage ist es wert in Tiefe diskutiert zu werden, in einem zukünftigem Artikel ;) .

Ein zweites grösseres Risiko

Bitcoins werden auf dem Computer in sogenannten Wallets (Brieftaschen) gelagert.

Schon heute gibt es spezialierte Computer-Viren, d.h. vollautomatisierte Computer-Attacken, die ausgelegt sind um die Schlüssel die Zugriff zu den Bitcoins des Computer-Besitzers geben zu stehlen. Je wertvoller die Bitcoins, desto wichtiger wird dieses Problem werden.

Nichtdestotrotz: Heute scheint es als ob Bitcoin und andere Krypto-Währungen Teil unserer Zukunft sein werden ! Affaire à suivre !

Warnung

Dieses Seite ist keine Kaufempfehlung. Falls Sie in Bitcoins investieren oder desinvestieren sollten, würden Sie diese Operation auf eigenes Risiko tätigen und Sie sollten definitiv Ihre eigenen Untersuchungen tätigen. Jede eventuelle Haftung wird vom Unterzeichner strikt abgelehnt ! Siehe auch die Benutzungsbedingungen