As for the future, our task is not to forecast it, but to enable it
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 Français  English  Deutsch

A forgotten strategic lesson, the Maginot Line

System-thinking is a must

 

 

 

Summary

"You must learn from the mistakes of others. You can't possibly live long enough to make them all yourself." (Sam Levenson, american humorist)

Sometimes, our ancestors made wrong decisions. And without consequent analysis, we are damned to repeat their errors !

The french defeat in 1939 is the consequence of the confusion between

  • a political non negotiable, visceral and morally highly respectable objective, keep the peace at any price, and
  • a particular strategy, the Maginot Line, wrongly considered as being the only possible option

Today, we know how it ended

Looking towards the future, the french Ligne Maginot experience should push us to question so-called "evidences" and, especially for leaders, to appreciate the quality of the decisions made.

Distinguish objective and strategy

My french grand-father fought in Verdun during World War I and was heavily injured; the family of my mother survived in the cellar while their house was hit by a bomb in 1943; my luxembourgish father was enrôlé de force by the german occupators.

During my early childhood, everything, absolutely everything was done to teach me what my grand-father called the "horror of war". Having been grown up in this atmosphere, I do live the underlying political objective.

But, if we do want absolutely want to meet an objective, are we therefore better prepared to meet it?

Intuitively, we know this is not the case !

Perhaps more than others, I have experienced the psychological limits created by a visceral commitment ! Which explains why I wrote this article ! and cited Sam Levenson

The french decision-makers

Nothing leads us to think that the french leaders of that period were incompetent.

André Maginot, a Doctor of Laws, decorated for his courage during World War I was the Minister of War in charge of the project. André Maginot was a cultivated man and a fierce warrior.

Undersecretary of States in the War Department in 1914, he enlisted voluntarily to the front to fight a war of ambushes at the age of 37. In his war-memories "Carnets de patrouille", "Maginot does not fear to show himself while while killing (p. 114, 115, 152, 160); even more, he glorifies himself for that. Maginot does not autocensure himself because a retrospective culpability feeling." (translated by myself from the website of the CRID 14-18) Andre Maginot knew to fight war without moral second thoughts.

And this warrior André Maginot lobbied for the project "Ligne Maginot" (which incidentally was only called Ligne Maginot after his death in 1932)

His predecessor and successor as Minister of War was Paul Painlevé. Paul Painlevé and André Maginot had a mutual esteem for one another and were objective allies for this project.

And the Professor and Academician Paul Painlevé had set up the mathematical equations which describe the fluid mechanics of the flight of a plane. The Professor Painlevé was also the first passenger to fly with Wilbur et Orville Wright, the aviation pioneers.

It is therefore indisputable that Paul Painlevé knew a lot about planes. Nevertheless, he has been, together with the brave André Maginot, an eminently competent and respectable architect of a failed project which did not take into account the aviation risk.

Let's remember that the General Charles de Gaulle has been the only person to have requested before World War II that France should put in operation armored tanks to counter german forces. It seems that also he did not view at that time the impact of aviation on war-faring. It seems that only the post-World War II version of his book “Vers l'armée de métier“ mentioned the aviation. I mention this not to denigrate the General de Gaulle, but to show to which extent even very great men have difficulty to take a glimpse at the future.

The Maginot Line had an overwhelming political support

Popular wisdom in France agrees to say today that the Maginot Line was an error, that one should have seen that the Germans could bypass these fortifications with their tanks and planes. It is not stated openly, it is implied that the french decision makers were incompetent.

After some initial tactical discussions, this pharaonic project was unanimously approved by the political class. This was not the result of the crazy idea of a few spinners. But looking back from the future, it is “evident” that the Germans could pass 1939 beside, notably in Luxembourg and Belgium, and over it with the aviation.

The “Ligne Maginot” project was passed by show of hands in 1929 at the Assemblée Nationale and with 270 votes against 20 at the french Sénat. There was a large consensus regarding this project.

When creating the Maginot Line, there was an underlying implicit hypothesys that Germany could do nothing but build in front of the Maginot Line another Line, i.e. reinforce the existing german Siegfried Line.

But Hitler was not Daladier. And the objective of Hitler was to attack, not to defend himself ! The hitlerian Germany built tanks and planes and developed a strategy which made unusable, which annihilated the heavy investments made by the French government.

Despite its noble objectives, the Maginot Line has been a resounding strategic failure for France.

Better decisions today ?

Instead of devaluing our ancestors, we should question the quality of our present decisions. Do we have a reason to estimate that we make better decisions than our ancestors ?

This seems doubtful, because we continue to err in important decisions.

Some precisions

In sixty-one years, we have survived 4 melt-downs of nuclear power-plants with radiation release. According to euronuclear.org, (figures of July 2nd 2012), 435 reactors are in operation now. Assuming that the 435 reactors had all been in operation since 1951, we would have 4 meltdowns for 435 reactors * 61 years of operation = 1 meltdown per reactor all 6634 year. Compared to the one meltdown for a million years, initial estimations would be 150 times too optimistic ...

If we then take into account that these reactors came only gradually in operation, we must at least multiply the error factor of 150 by about 3. Thus, for this question and death, empiric experience shows that we were approximatively 450, 500 times too optimistic ...

  • Nuclear energy has always been presented as a controlled risk.

    To put things in perspective, a serious scientific child book of mine, printed in the sixties, showed that by the year 2000 or so, a car would be powered by a small nuclear power-plant. This would permit the car to travel for about 20.000 km without refueling ;)))

    Elder persons will remember that in the sixties, il was that stated the probability of a melt-down of a nuclear plant with subsequent radiation release would be about one accident for a million of years.

  • At the base, the european construction is a strategy to avoid a new war. The Euro is a strategy to solidify the european integration. At least at the present time, the Euro is in contradiction with the initial objectives of the founding fathers of Europe, i.e. maintain peace

    The more and more constraining european integration strategy has become a purpose in itself.

    As for the Maginot Line, the real objective was lost. In both cases, maintaining peace was the objective.

    Unfortunately, this situation is quite common; scientific researches show that the human being, including politicians, are largely irrational with respect to decisions of life and death. (see the recent discoveries of psycho-economics : e.g. the prospect-theory, Black Swans and GroupThink)

What should we do ?

Taking important decisions, maybe of life and death, is never simple.

During the discussions I had after giving out a first version of this article, I felt that a lot of passions began surfacing. Psychologically, this is understandable, we do all bear in ourselves the past of our ancestors. And somewhat, we feel inconsciously responsible for this past which we never lived.

Let's understand that if we stay unable to accept our fears, we can not analyze the facts in a rational way and we increase the odds of catastrophes.

And we should understand that, no more than former generations, we can not dictate how the following generations should administrate their world.

It's their life !

All fairy tales end with the ritual formula: "They were happy and had many children." As a young colleague brilliantly formulated it: there is this idea that once we have solved the next problem, history will stop ;)

And for example, the wish to make any future war unwagable to our children and grand-children, as honorable as it might be, will remain unrealizable and dangerous. A complete european integration could perhaps prevent any external war.

But Black Swans do exist. And the american history tells us that civil war, where brothers fight against brothers, is even worse than an external war

Recent researches should teach us prudence. The link hereafter presents a short summary of research with respect to the irrationality of decisions

How irrational are we ? the facts as reported by the psycho-economics

En ce qui concerne l'avenir, il ne s'agit pas de le prédire, mais de le rendre possible
Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
 Français  English  Deutsch

Une leçon stratégique oubliée, la Ligne Maginot !

apprendre du passé

 

 

 

Résumé

"Vous devez apprendre des fautes des autres. Vous ne vivrez jamais assez longtemps pour les faire toutes vous-mêmes !" (Sam Levenson, humoriste américain)

Nos aïeux se sont parfois trompés lourdement. Et sans analyse conséquente, nous sommes condamnés à reproduire leurs fautes !

La défaite française en 1939 est la conséquence de la confusion entre

  • un objectif politique non négociable, viscéral et éminemment respectable, le maintien de la Paix, et
  • une stratégie particulière, la ligne Maginot, considérée à tort comme étant la seule possible

Aujourd'hui, nous connaissons la suite !

En regardant vers l'avenir, l'expérience de la ligne Maginot devrait nous inciter à remettre en question de soi-disantes "évidences" et, en particulier pour les dirigeants, de jauger la qualité des décisions prises.

Distinguer objectif et stratégie

Mon grand-père français a fait Verdun durant la première guerre mondiale et y a été gravement blessé; la famille de ma mère a vécu, dans sa cave, un bombardement en 1943 avec une bombe tombée directement sur la maison familiale; mon père luxembourgeois a été enrôlé de force par les Allemands durant la deuxième guerre mondiale.

Depuis ma petite enfance, tout, absolument tout a été fait pour m'inculquer ce que mon grand-père appellait "l'horreur de la guerre". Pour avoir vécu cette ambiance, je vis intuitivement cet objectif politique.

Mais si nous voulons absolument atteindre un objectif, sommes-nous pour cela mieux préparé pour l'atteindre?

Intuitivement, nous savons que non !

Et peut-être plus que d'autres, j'ai personnellement vécu les limites psychologiques que crééent un engagement viscéral ! D'où cet article avec la citation de Sam Levenson !

Les dirigeants de l'époque

Rien n'incite à penser que les dirigeants de l'époque étaient incapables.

André Maginot, docteur en droit, décoré pour son courage durant la première guerre mondiale était un des ministres de la guerre en charge du projet. C'était un homme cultivé et un guerrier courageux.

Sous-secrétaire d'Etat à la Guerre en 1914, il s'engage volontairement au front à l'âge de 37 ans pour mener une guerre d'embuscade. Dans ses carnets de patrouille, André "Maginot ne craint pas de se dépeindre en train de tuer (p. 114, 115, 152, 160); mieux, il s’en glorifie. Chez Maginot, on ne trouve pas de trace d’autocensure suscitée par un sentiment de culpabilité rétrospectif." André Maginot savait faire la guerre sans état d'âme.

Et ce guerrier André Maginot a poussé politiquement le projet "Ligne Maginot" (qui ne s'appelera d'ailleurs Ligne Maginot qu'après sa mort en 1932)

Son prédécesseur et successeur en tant que ministre de la guerre était Paul Painlevé. Paul Painlevé et André Maginot s'estimaient mutuellement et étaient objectivement alliés dans le cadre de ce projet, même s'ils appartenaient à des partis politiques différents.

Et le Professeur et Académicien Paul Painlevé avait établi les équations mathématiques qui décrivent la mécanique des fluides du vol d'un avion. Paul Painlevé a d'ailleurs été le premier passager à voler avec les frères Wilbur et Orville Wright, pionniers de l'aviation.

Manifestement, Paul Painlevé savait ce qu'était un avion. Pourtant, il a été, avec le vaillant André Maginot, l'un des architectes éminemment compétents et respectables d'un échec qui ne prenait pas en compte le risque aviation.

Rappelons que le général Charles de Gaulle a été le seul à avoir réclamé avant la deuxième guerre mondiale que la France se dote de chars blindés pour pouvoir contrer les forces allemandes. Il semblerait qu'il n'avait pas non plus entrevu l'impact de l'aviation sur l'art de la guerre. Ce ne serait que la version post-deuxième guerre mondiale du livre “Vers l'armée de métier“ du Général de Gaulle qui mentionnait aussi l'aviation. Je mentionne ceci nullement pour dénigrer le général de Gaulle, mais pour montrer à quel point même de très grands hommes ont des difficultés pour entrevoir l'avenir

La ligne Maginot faisait l'unanimité

La sagesse populaire s'accorde aujourd'hui à dire que la ligne Maginot était une erreur, que l'on aurait pu se rendre compte que les Allemands pouvaient contourner ces fortifications avec leurs blindés et leurs avions. Sans l'expliciter ouvertement, il est impliqué que les décideurs français étaient des incapables.

Après quelques balbutiements au début des années 1920, ce projet pharaonique a fait l'unanimité populaire et l'unanimité de la classe politique. Ce n'est pas le résultat d'une lubis de quelques illuminés. Alors qu'il est rétrospectivement “évident” que les Allemands pouvaient en 1939 passer à côté, notamment au Luxembourg et en Belgique, et au dessus par l'aviation.

Le projet “Ligne Maginot” a été adopté en 1929 à main levée par l'Assemblée Nationale et à 270 contre 20 voix par le Sénat Français. Ce projet faisait la quasi‑unanimité.

Il y avait dans la création de la ligne Maginot l'hypothèse implicite que l'Allemagne ne pouvait rien faire d'autre que de répondre à la ligne Maginot par une autre ligne, allemande celle-là. Selon l'idée française, l'Allemagne devait renforcer sa ligne Siegfried.

Mais Hitler n'était pas Daladier. Et l'objectif d'Hitler était l'attaque, non la défense ! L'Allemagne hitlérienne a construit des chars et des avions et a développé une stratégie qui rendait vains, qui réduisait à zéro les lourds investissements consentis par l'Etat Français.

Aussi nobles qu'aient été ses objectifs, la Ligne Maginot a été un échec stratégique retentissant pour la France.

Ce qui rend cette défaite si douloureuse, si difficile à vivre, c'est qu'après-coup il devient évident que les efforts déployés étaient vains. Une fois l'issue connue, la vainitude des efforts consentis devient flagrante. Nous devenons alors incapables de nous replacer dans l'état d'esprit avant ces évènements. Ce qui psychologiquement est démoralisant et déstabilisant. Ainsi, la défaite française en 39 est un Cygne Noir.

De meilleures décisions maintenant?

Plutôt que de dévaloriser nos aïeux, nous devrions nous interroger sur la qualité de nos décisions actuelles. Avons-nous une raison pour estimer que nous prenons de meilleures décisions que nos aïeux?

Il est permis d'en douter, car nous continuons de nous tromper dans des décisions importantes

Quelques précisions

En soixante et un ans, nous avons survécu à 4 fusions de réacteurs nucléaires avec échappement massif de radiation. D'après euronuclear.org, (chiffres du 2 juillet 2012), 435 réacteurs étaient en exploitation à ce moment. En admettant que ces 435 réacteurs auraient tous été en exploitation depuis 1951, nous aurions eu 4 meltdows pour 435 réacteurs * 61 années d'opérations = 1 meltdown par réacteur tous les 6634 années. Par rapport aux estimations d'un accident par million d'années, les estimations initiales auraient été 150 fois trop optimiste.

Si en plus nous prenons en compte la mise en service progressive de ces réacteurs, nous devons multiplier ce facteur d'erreur par au moins 3; L'expérience empirique montre que cette estimation de vie ou de mort a donc été de l'ordre de 450 fois, 500 fois trop optimiste...

  • L'énergie nucléaire a toujours été présentée comme un risque contrôlable.

    Pour mettre les choses en perspective, un livre scientifique sérieux de mon enfance, imprimé durant les années soixante, expliquait qu'aux alentours des années 2000, les voitures disposeraient d'une petite centrale nucléaire. Cela permettrait à ces voitures de voyager environ 20.000 km sans faire le plein ;)))

    Les plus âgés se souviendront que dans les années 1960, la probabilité de fusion d'un noyau de réacteur nucléaire avec échappement massif de radiation était estimée être d'un accident nucléaire catastrophique par million d'années d'opération.

  • La construction européenne a été au départ une stratégie pour éviter que l'Europe ne replonge dans la guerre. La monnaie unique, l'Euro est une stratégie pour solidifier la stratégie d'intégration européenne. Et l'Euro est, pour le moment au moins, en contradiction avec les objectifs premiers des pères fondateurs de l'Europe, à savoir le maintien de la Paix.

    La stratégie d'intégration européenne de plus en plus poussée est devenue une fin en soi

    Comme pour la Ligne Maginot, il y a perte de vue de l'objectif. Dans les deux cas, il s'agit d'ailleurs du maintien de la paix.

    Ce phénomène est malheureusement normal; les recherches scientifiques montrent que l'homme, y compris politique, est largement irrationnel dans des décisions de vie ou de mort. (voir par exemple les découvertes récentes de la psycho-économie, et notamment la théorie des perspectives, les cygnes noirs et le GroupThink)

Que faire ?

Prendre des décisions importantes, voire de vie ou de mort, n'est jamais simple.

Lors des discussions que j'ai eues après avoir diffusé la première mouture de cet article, j'ai senti que beaucoup de passions remontaient. Psychologiquement, cela s'explique, nous portons tous en nous le passé de nos aieux. Et quelque part, nous nous sentons inconsciemment mis en cause par ce passé que nous n'avons pas vécu.

Comprenons que si nous ne pouvons pas accepter nos peurs, nous sommes incapables d'une analyse factuelle et que nous augmentons alors les chances de catastrophes.

Et rendons-nous compte que pas plus que les autres générations, nous sommes incapables d'empêcher les générations suivantes d'avoir à leur tour leur impact sur le monde.

C'est leur vie !

Tous les contes de fée se terminent par la formule rituelle: "Ils fûrent heureux et eurent beaucoup d'enfants." Comme me le formulait brillamment un jeune collègue: Il existe cette idée qu'une fois le prochain problème résolu, l'histoire s'arrêtera ;)

Alors que par exemple, le souhait de rendre impossible toute guerre à nos enfants et petits-enfants, pour honorable qu'il soit, restera irréalisable et dangereux. Certes une intégration européenne complète pourra peut-être éviter toute guerre externe.

Mais les Cygnes Noirs existent. Ainsi par exemple l'histoire américaine montre que la guerre civile, dans laquelle les frères se battent contre les frères, est encore pire qu'une guerre externe.

Les recherches récentes devraient nous inciter à la prudence. Le lien ci-après vous présente un résumé succinct des recherches en matière d'irrationalité des décisions

A quel points sommes-nous irrationnels: la réponse de la psycho-économie